AAA School Safety Patrol allows students to walk safely to & from school.

Safety Patrol Badge

Millions of young people across the United States and 30 other nations worldwide volunteer their time to help ensure the safety of fellow classmates traveling to and from school, and to serve as role models for younger students. Today, the AAA School Safety Patrol has more than 654,000 Patrollers in 34,500 U.S. schools. Education and safety groups around the world have praised the program for reducing injuries and fatalities among schoolchildren ages 5 to 14.

The club’s Traffic Safety department provides schools with no-cost safety patrol supplies and training, and administers special safety patrol programs throughout the school year. Enrollment forms for the AAA School Safety Patrol® program are generally due in October, however, we will gladly accept them at any time during the school year along with the number of students who have been added to or dropped from patrol.


Download your copy of the AAA School Safety Patrol® Operations Manual (PDF).

For more information on any of these programs, contact Kellie O’Riordan at 614.431.7882 or email

Please note: additional information on programs or events is sent only to schools that have completed the enrollment form.

Participation in the AAA School Safety Patrol® program qualifies schools, students and advisors for several awards and grants. Click on the following program titles for more information.

At Your Post

The School Safety Patrol $100 Grant Award +

The School Safety Patrol $100 Grant Award

To honor the hard work of School Safety Patrol team members, ten $100 grants per year are awarded to Safety Patrol teams at elementary schools within AAA Ohio Auto Club’s service area. Grants totaling over $7,000 have been provided to Safety Patrol teams to use for special events, to purchase incentives, or for other activities.

Applications are sent to safety patrol advisors who have completed the AAA School Safety Patrol® enrollment form for the school year by the fall enrollment deadline.

Scroll down to see our most recent winners of the grant!

The School Safety Patrol $1000 Grant Award

AAA Ohio Auto Club helps former School Safety Patrol members further their education after graduation through the AAA School Safety Patrol $1,000 Grant. Ten $1,000 grants are presented each year to high school seniors who once served as a safety patrol team member. Students in Ohio Auto Club territory may apply.

Information and application forms are sent to all public, private and parochial schools in Ohio Auto Club territory. Check with your high school guidance office to obtain the application form. Students must complete the application, including their academic record, safety patrol, experience, in-school and out-of-school activities and references, and a minimum 500-word essay.

Application must be signed by the guidance counselor or other school official and the applicant. Fifteen finalists will be chosen for a phone interview. Recipients are selected based on their academic performance, school/community service, the essay and the interview. Finalists who are interviewed but do not receive a grant will be awarded a $250 grant.

Scroll down to see our 2017 winners of the grant!

School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame

The AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame recognizes patrol members who exemplify the spirit and purpose of the safety patrol program. Advisors are invited to nominate students to be considered for induction in the Hall of Fame. The nominated patrol members will be asked to answer four short answer essay questions.

School Safety Patrol Advisor of the Year

The guiding force behind the AAA School Safety Patrol® program is the adult patrol advisor. Their commitment to youth, their ability to inspire and encourage children – and their patience – has long contributed to the continued success of the patrol program. Principals, teachers, parents and students are encouraged to nominate an advisor they feel deserves to be named the AAA School Safety Patrol Advisor of the Year.

Applications are sent to the principal at schools that have completed the School Safety Patrol enrollment form for the current school year by the enrollment deadline.

AAA School Safety Patrol National Lifesaving Award

Established in 1949, this is the highest award given to students involved in the program. Recipients are selected patrol members who, while on duty, have saved the life of a person or persons in imminent danger. The Lifesaving Award has been presented to over 400 patrollers.

If you know of a AAA School Safety Patrol student whom you feel qualifies for this prestigious award, please contact the AAA Ohio Auto Club Traffic Safety Department:

AAA Ohio Auto Club
ATTN: Kellie O’Riordan
90 E Wilson Bridge Road
Worthington, Ohio 43085
Phone: 614.431.7882

2016 AAA School Safety Patrol $100 Grant Winners

Fostoria Intermediate, Fostoria
Franklin Elementary, Wadsworth
High Point Elementary, Columbus
Indianola Informal K-8, Columbus
Kenton Elementary, Kenton

Monroe Elementary, Monroe
Parkmoor, Columbus
Sandy Calley Local, Magnolia
Trevitt Elementary, Columbus
Valleyview Elementary, Columbus

2017 AAA School Safety Patrol $1,000 Grant Winners

  • Joselyn Brown

    Joselyn Brown

    Centennial High School
  • Regina Cavin

    Regina Cavin

    Centennial High School
  • Brittany Close

    Brittany Close

    Brunswick High School
  • Luke Ferrell

    Luke Ferrell

    Middletown High School
  • Bailey Eickholt

    Bailey Eickholt

    Kalida High School
  • Andrew Hollenbaugh

    Andrew Hollenbaugh

    Reynoldsburg High School – eSTEM
  • Garrett Joseph

    Garrett Joseph

    Fremont Ross High School
  • Kyle Lawson

    Kyle Lawson

    Eastmoor Academy
  • Maya Norris

    Maya Norris

    Zanesville High School
  • Jade Willett

    Jade Willett

    Zanesville High School